Guide to Smart Remote Control Vibrators: Lovense Lush 2, OhMiBod Esca 2, We-Vibe Sync, & We-Vibe Moxie Reviews

Lovense Lush 2, OhMiBod Esca 2, We-Vibe Moxie, and more are sex technology—and I’m on a mission to rate the best remote control vibrators! As someone who’s both (1) an exhibitionist sexually and (2) in a long-distance relationship, I’ve been excited to thoroughly test out the top wearable vibes available in 2019.

Remote control vibrators are about teasing, and toying, and truly playing—more than just reaching orgasm.1 When used in public settings, they’re about feeling like someone else has control over you, can make you squirm at any time. They’re tools to build arousal and excitement, and to explore dominance/submission and (discreet) exhibitionism. These app-controlled vibrators employ Bluetooth to connect you with your partner—whether they’re next to you at the bar, or on the other side of the world.

First, this guide compares & reviews Lovense Lush 2, We-Vibe Sync, We-Vibe Moxie, and OhMiBod Esca 2—the best app-controlled vibrators on the market right now for vag and/or clit. I’ll rank each toy on a 10-point scale2 for rumbliness, total power, quietness, secure fit (does it stay in???) plus comfortable wear, and app functionality. I’ll also discuss my experiences with Bluetooth connectivity, an important variable.

But hey, then I figured: Why stop with wearable toys, and why not anal toys too? Long-distance relationships are on the rise, and I love that we have technology to help bridge the gap. Being able to connect to my partner through strong clit toys like Lovense Domi and We-Vibe Melt lifts my mood and makes me forget the distance temporarily.

Vaginal Vibes

These toys are designed to be worn internally, but if you’re at home (rather than trying to wear them in public), you could definitely use them as clit vibes too.

OhMiBod Esca 2 (7.6 out of 10)

Best for: Quietness; Rumbliness; Secure Fit as You Move; Text Interactivity; Syncing to Music

I’d heard so much about the Lovense Lush that I didn’t expect its lesser-known competitor, the OhMiBod Esca 2, would even be in the same league. But Esca 2 definitely stacks up—and then some.

The OhMiBod Esca 2’s vibrations are rumblier than the Lovense Lush 2’s. The first couple settings don’t have that slightly buzzy quality that I get when holding Lush in my hand. The vibes aren’t quite as strong, but they’re deeper. (They’re also quieter than Lush 2’s—hugely important if you want to wear your vibe out discreetly.)

Even better, I feel 5 times more comfortable wearing Esca 2 outside the house than Lush 2. Esca’s gentler curve stays put best, whereas Lush is more likely to wiggle its way outside my vagina when I walk fast, move my hips to music, or climb stairs. Plus Esca’s tail curves more easily & fits perfectly against my mons, versus Lush’s harder-to-bend tail.

Esca 2, purple; vs. Lush 2, pink.

My partner has given me some very good orgasms with Esca’s tap function, and solo, I like syncing the toy to music while I’m working from home or doing chores. It adds life to my routine! Read more about the app here. My other fave part about the app is how it notifies you in real time when your play partner switches vibe modes, so you know exactly how they’re controlling you.

My only complaint about Esca 2? The company name imprint in the bulb requires a little extra care when I’m cleaning the toy.

Rumbliness: 7.25/10 overall: 8/10 on low & 6.5/10 on high
Overall power: 5.75/10: 5/10 on low & 6.5/10 on high
Quietness: 9/10. (More info here.)
Comfortable, secure fit: 8/10: Bulb has a comfortable curve that stays in unless I’m walking fast or climbing stairs quickly. Extra-flexible tail rests perfectly on my mons.
App ease of use & features: 8/10: Vibe pairs well to app after you decrease your phone volume to 75% (a minor hassle), but then connecting to my partner is simple, and the text-during-play (send pics too!) and sync-to-music functions are fun.
Preset speeds: 3 steady speeds,3 2 patterns
Bluetooth connectivity (my experience): 10/10. Stays connected all the time for me, both when I’m using the app myself, and when my partner has used it next to me and long-distance—even while I’m walking around outside.

Lovense Lush 2 (6.8 out of 10)

Best for: Overall Strength; Custom Pattern Creation; In-App Video Calls

The Lovense Lush (now on version #2) is the toy you know someone is talking about when they ask, “I’m looking for that vibe with the pink tail.” Widely used by webcam performers, the Lovense Lush 2 has an excellent app that lets you create your own custom patterns. Or choose from preset user-created patterns with names as descriptive as “Insanely Intense,” “Running juices,” and “morning ride before work”—and as vague as “795416.” You can import your music library, or have Lush 2 sync to ambient noises (including music played by sources besides your phone). All Lovense toys—including a wand vibe, a stroker, and more—use this app.

The new Lush 2 has easy button control in the tail (rather than up the bulb). The bulb shape is the most G-spotty of all the toys here, due to its prominent point. I like it a lot while I’m sitting down or lying on my back. And overall, Lush 2 has the most power of any long-distance app-controlled vibe.

BUT. Because Lush 2’s bulb is heavier and my vag has a knack for pushing things out, I only feel comfortable wearing it inside my house without super-supportive underwear.4 Being controlled, long-distance, inside my bedroom is my favorite use for Lush 2.

The Lovense app is so well-designed, and solo app-controlled play with Lush 2 has been flawless. (Details about the app here.) I am slightly annoyed that, as the vibe user—not the controller—I can’t initiate voice calls, video, or vibe control—only my partner can. *stratches head*  But the text and pic exchange functions have connected us during playtime, and the vibes are powerful enough to get me off while he controls Lush.

Rumbliness: 5/10 overall: 6/10 on low & 4/10 on high
Overall power: 7/10: 6/10 on low & 8/10 on high
Quietness: 7.5/10. Not too bad once inserted, just make sure you’re not wearing it at a quiet restaurant & using it on high—unless you like having people wonder a little.
Comfortable, secure fit: 6.5/10: More likely to wiggle itself while I’m walking; the tail also curves in weird directions & sticks out farther forward. When I’m lying down or sitting, though, the bulb is nicely shaped.
App ease of use & features: 8/10: Very high-tech, good functionality. Connecting my device was super-easy; getting linked to my partner, a slight learning process. The app allows for text (words & pictures), voice calls, and video—though I’ve had some issues accessing the last two.
Preset speeds: 3 steady speeds, 4 patterns
Bluetooth connectivity (my experience): 10/10: Once we initiate vibe control, the connection is steady. Hasn’t cut out yet, either short range or long-distance.
View the Product Listing Here 

Dual-Stimulating

We-Vibe Sync (5.5 out of 10)

Best for: Clitoral Stimulation; Use during Penetrative Sex

Sync is the best of We-Vibe’s lineup of “couples toys” originally designed to be worn for hands-free clit stimulation during penis-in-vagina sex. Sync’s two motors and double joints put it in a higher price bracket than the (also-app-controlled) Match.5

Unlike Esca and Lush, the We-Vibe Sync is geared more toward clitoral stimulation, because Sync’s larger, stronger motor is housed in the external arm. (But if you’re looking for pure clit stim in a wearable toy, then see We-Vibe’s Moxie, next, a moderately powerful panty vibe with magnetic clip.)

Sync’s clitoral stimulation is rumbly and fairly powerful. Pair it with a VixSkin Mustang G-spot dildo, and I’ve had fuck-yes orgasms.

The problem for me, though? Sync doesn’t stay in place. With gentler penetration it moves from side to side; when I’m thrusting a dildo I have to hold it down on my clit; and when I try to walk around with it inside my underwear, forget it. Sync may have two joints that allow you to modify the shape a lot, but it’s just the wrong size for my body. POP, it jumps out every time I do more than shuffle.

Also: My FWB and I gave up on the We-Connect app for long-distance play. The app is sophisticated, but (unlike with the Lovense and OhMiBod apps), we struggled to make the connection in the first place, then the whole thing froze up when he tried to initiate a video call, and…lots of frustration ensued. Read more about Bluetooth connectivity below.

But if your vag is less prone to ejecting Sync than mine, you can resolve public-play connectivity issues by using Sync’s included remote control instead of the app.

Rumbliness: 7/10 overall: 8/10 on low & 6.5/10 on high
Overall power: 4.5/10: 4/10 on low & 6/10 on high
Quietness: 4/10
Comfortable, secure fit: 4/10: Nope, not while I’m standing. I like grinding on it, sitting on it, and holding it against my mons while using a dildo, though.
App ease of use & features: 7/10: Connection is easy. Afterward, swipe right to access 10 patterns that you can adjust the intensity levels—for both clit & vaginal motors, independently. You can also create custom vibration modes. Ironically, Sync doesn’t sync to music or surrounding noises.
Preset speeds: 4 steady speeds, 6 patterns
Bluetooth connectivity (my experience): 4/10. Sometimes disconnects when I’m controlling the app and I close my legs. I had a hard time connecting with my partner, and we gave up in the end. Forget video calls during play.

Clitoral / Panty Vibes

We-Vibe Moxie (6.6 out of 10)

Best for: Wearability (Stays in Place!!!); Clit Stim Alone

The We-Vibe Moxie is a winner because it stays where it’s supposed to. With a smooth, almost soft silicone body, Moxie is perfect against my vulva. It just sits right. Grinding my clit on the small hump is a thrill. And Moxie’s magnetic clip (two detachable ovals6) will work with any underwear.

More than that, Moxie is the only app-controlled vibe here that’s for clitoral stimulation alone. It doesn’t need to go inside the vagina—a big deal given that most people with clits will orgasm more easily from clitoral than vaginal vibes. Plus, Moxie’s connection is more stable than Sync’s because Moxie is all external.

We-Vibe Moxie has some lovely rumble. It’s just not quite the powerhouse I was expecting, having experienced the We-Vibe Tango. Moxie’s super-comfortable silicone coating absorbs a good deal of the motor’s intensity. But, on the other hand, more power usually equals more noise, and Moxie is already the loudest vibrator on this list in use. Since it’s all external, your flesh won’t dampen the sound like with a vaginal vibe. Moxie’s noise is undetectable in a more crowded restaurant or nightclub, but I don’t recommend wearing it in more subdued public settings if you want to remain discreet.

Moxie has four steady speeds, and the third isn’t even as strong the Lovense Lush 2’s first speed. For me, Moxie is best for teasing. If you’re searching for a truly powerful remote control (but not app-controlled) clit vibe, then the Charged Vooom Remote Bullet in the Screaming O My Secret Panty Vibe beats Moxie—for $59.95 (panty set) or $48 (remote + bullet alone), vs. Moxie’s $120 price tag.

Rumbliness: 7.5/10 overall: 8/10 on low & 7/10 on high
Overall power: 5/10: 4/10 on low & 6/10 on high
Quietness: 3/10. Louder, because it’s all external. The higher speeds are worse; lower 2 to 3 steady speeds shouldn’t be heard in a bustling restaurant or any crowded venue
Comfortable, secure fit: 10/10: Fits so well against the vulva, and the magnetic clip is really strong. Easy to use with any kind of underwear.
App ease of use & features: Same as We-Vibe Sync: Connection is easy. Afterward, swipe right to access 10 patterns that you can adjust the intensity level. You can also create custom vibration modes.
Preset speeds: 4 steady speeds, 7 patterns
Bluetooth connectivity (my experience): 7/10. Connecting wasn’t quite as easy as with OhMiBod or Lovense especially, but, maybe because we were prepared for this now, we tried harder. Video calls were a little glitchy, but the connectivity is better than with Sync (because Moxie is all external, the Bluetooth doesn’t cut out so much).

Full Comparative Table

See all my rankings compiled here (click to enlarge):

App controlled vibrator ranking table

* Bluetooth connectivity discussed later in this post.

Anal Plugs/Prostate

Vibrating plugs are easy to wear out—less worry about secure fit, since the rectum is a vacuum. If you get a well-designed plug that your body is comfortable with size-wise, then slippage is less of an issue than with vaginal toys. It’s best to have previous anal plugging experience before diving right into wearing a remote plug in public, because even a 1.5″ diameter plug will be large, and very likely uncomfortable, for the beginner. See my anal stretching recommendations here.

Prostate plugs can be worn outside the house, but I’m not sure I’d recommend it in general. The stimulation can get intense, you may want to add penile stimulation too, and you really want to be in a relaxed state for a good prostate orgasm. (Also, jizz happens.)

  • Lovense Hush: Lovense’s motors just rock out. I would strongly recommend either Hush 1.5 (smaller) or Hush 1.75 (larger size) over everything else if you want a butt plug for remote public play. They’re a classic tapered shape with a curly-cue at back to rest in your crack.
  • We-Vibe Ditto: A smaller (1.27″ max. width) plug that may fit the anal beginner better. I’m not convinced that the sleek shape will stay in place 100% securely, though; the neck doesn’t narrow at the back, so it may not lock in place for more experienced users.
  • Lovense Edge: Again, strong. Edge is adjustable, so you angle it to hit your prostate right. I have read one complaint that the large bump in front, on the perineum stimulator, was too much; that it was affecting the user’s comfort with the toy.
  • We-Vibe Vector features a more subtle shape, one that’ll create prostrate pressure without so much curvature at the base. The vibes are quite rumbly and pretty strong. Vector also has an adjustable body that stays in place once you bend it where you want it.

Non-Wearable Clit Toys

These clitoral toys are serious business. With the power of a Magic Wand and a Womanizer, respectively, both are intensely stimulating.

Lovense Domi Wand (9.75/10 for Power)

The Lovense Domi matches the Magic Wand Rechargeable for strength—simply, it’s the strongest remote control vibrator on the market.

Domi’s first preprogrammed speed is deep & rumbly, and then speed #2 (of 3) is a huge leap up from there. I’m very impressed with Domi’s intensity range; the vibes in this one never get so buzzy (surface-level) like some strong wand vibes, despite the high level of power.

And like in Lovense Lush, Lovense’s app excels. I believe it’s the easiest-to-use remote control app. Pairing isn’t a total pain, connection is stable, and my partner loves pushing the limits and hearing my response. As for me, I enjoy the rotating + vibrating functions, and being able to speed up and slow down the built-in patterns. App testing details in my fuller review here! 

Overall power: 9.75/10 (Damn, that’s high!)
App ease of use & features: 8/10: I don’t think you’ll find better.
Preset speeds: 3 steady speeds, 4 patterns
Bluetooth connectivity (my experience): 10/10. Has been flawless for us.
View the Product Listing Here 

We-Vibe Melt (Stronger Than Womanizer!)

I firmly believe that We-Vibe Melt is the most comfortable “pressure wave” clitoral stimulator in existence. The toy is covered in a silky silicone that folds inward at the head. That makes it feel more natural to me, because it’s less hard, and getting a seal is easier.

I also find Melt stronger on intensity level #8 (not even the top speed!) than the top-of-the-line Womanizer Premium is on its 12th and highest setting.

Melt is in this guide because it’s the first air pulsation clit stimulator with app functionality. In the We-Connect app, you can’t quite customize patterns to the degree that you can with We-Vibe vibrators. There’s only one function, “Stimulate,” and you move your finger up and down to change intensity and/or create waves of suction-y pulsation. You can easily let your partner control the toy remotely, without having to touch Melt. Full Melt review coming soon—my partner & I need to do more long-distance testing!

View the Product Listing Here 

On Bluetooth Connectivity

Bluetooth is a wireless technology (used by all these smart remote control vibes) that sometimes works perfectly and sometimes is a hassle. (Like anything electronic-related, right???) Bluetooth signals have a hard time carrying through flesh, which is why the antennas on the OhMiBod and Lovense toys are located outside the vagina. Still, the signal may drop if you close your legs or if your body covers the antenna for any other reason. Folks with larger bodies are known to have more connectivity issues, for example.

Also, different users, with different mobile devices, may have different experiences with each app. The same couple, using the same two phones and the same vibe, may find that We-Vibe works for them while Lovense doesn’t, or vice versa. But majority opinion is that the Lovense app maintains Bluetooth connection more consistently than the We-Vibe We-Connect app—and it’s my experience that the current OhMiBod app is as good as the Lovense one for connectivity.

General Tips for Discreet Public Play

Totally new to wearing a vibe in public? Here my tips:

  1. Scope out where you’ll be going beforehand: Be aware of noise level.
  2. Wear the vibe around your house first—see what support you’ll need. If I walk too fast, all these vibes will start wanting to come out. (With Sync being the worst offender.) If this is you, wear more supportive underwear, or tight-fitting spandex shorts over your normal underwear (this works well under some skirts).
  3. Communicate with your partner about both your expectations. What sounds hot about using a vibe in public: Is it being controlled/being in control? Is it the sheer naughtiness of maybe being caught? Is it that you like having other people watch? Public play vibes are a perfect way to explore dominance/submission or exhibitionism. It’s totally legitimate to not know what you’re looking for at first from a public-play experience, and to figure it out as you go. But it’s important for the controller and controllee to understand that, if either partner is uncomfortable with the situation, they can choose to end the public play at any time. Then discuss the experience afterward!
  4. Bring a storage pouch. If your vibe dies, you don’t want to play anymore, or maybe if you have to pee, then a storage bag can be a big help. Just remove the toy from your body and stash the bag in your purse or large pocket.

However you choose to play, enjoy yourself!!!

* * *

Notes

  1. If you’re looking for a quick and easy way to orgasm, then I’d recommend a toy like the We-Vibe Tango, a Magic Wand, or a Womanizer instead, as they’re all really powerful and clit-centric.
  2. The 10-point scale rankings may seem a little low—but keep in mind that I’m comparing these toys against the rumbliest G-spot vibes, the most powerful bullets, and of course that god of vibrators, the Hitachi (now Vibratex) Magic Wand.
  3. Technically the second 2 of 3 are not 100% steady but sure feel close enough.
  4. I need some good spandex, yo.
  5. Knowledgeable readers may wonder why I chose to get a We-Vibe Sync instead of a We-Vibe Jive—whose shape is more like Esca and Lush. It’s because of complaints that Jive is “buzzy,” “too slim,” and barely noticeable “even when on max power.”
  6. Apparently you only need to use one at a time and the second is a spare! I had to go to a sex toy trade show to learn this, lol.

One thought on “Guide to Smart Remote Control Vibrators: Lovense Lush 2, OhMiBod Esca 2, We-Vibe Sync, & We-Vibe Moxie Reviews

  1. Nana Osaki

    June 14, 2019 at 11:29am

    I purchased a OhMiBod Esca 2 based on your review, I’m really excited

  2. Nick Mahler

    June 24, 2019 at 2:16am

    We’ve had several customers tell us the Esca 2 was much better than the Lush and your review is spot-on as always. I love your in-depth information and no sugar coating to please manufacturers like some people do. I also think some of the We-Vibe stuff is going backwards instead of moving forward and being a leader.

    • Author

      Felicity

      June 24, 2019 at 7:27pm

      Thanks so much, I really appreciate the kind words! I like Lush 2; I think the power is good and the app kicks butt—but Esca is my favorite for sure.

      I’m interested to see how well-liked We-Vibe Melt & Vector turn out to be! The recent We-Vibe releases do seem hit or miss.

  3. SB Mor

    September 16, 2019 at 4:20am

    Is it my imagination, or is the Lovense Remote application far far better than the Ohmibod’s Feel Connect? Feel Connect is rated only 2 stars out of 5 on the Google Play store. Do I have the wrong application?

    • Author

      Felicity

      September 17, 2019 at 12:20am

      I’ve been using the OhMiBod app rather than Feel Connect, though Esca works with both. I think Lovense’s app is a bit more sophisticated, but the OhMiBod app is easy enough to use and has been functional for us. And tbh no remote control sex toy app seem to get really high ratings: the Lovense app has a 3.2 out of 5 rating on the Apple App Store and I don’t know how it could possibly be better.

Your e-mail will NOT be published. Name and e-mail fields are required.